Ironically, Kirby doesn’t suck

by
I wish I could have a pet Kirby.

I wish I could have a pet Kirby.

My appreciation for Nintendo’s pink marshmallow has dramatically increased in the past year. It started with my download of Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards for the Virtual Console, which turned out to be a fun sidescroller I passed on back in the N64 days. But my interest in getting back into the series really came with the latest Kirby on DS, Kirby Super Star Ultra.

I seriously love this damn game. It’s essentially a remake of the SNES Kirby Super Star, but with some added content, and obviously in handheld form. The cart is packed with a lot of content. There are multiple scenarios that are basically full on Kirby games to play through, as well as some touch-based mini-games.

On second though, maybe he's better off staying in videogame land.

On second though, maybe he's better off staying in videogame land.

The core games are mostly typical platform games, but there are things that take place within each to make them unique enough to stand on their own (there’s also a racing game and boss battle). Outside of Kirby 64, it has been years since I completed a Kirby game – in fact, it might have been the original on GameBoy when I was a wee lad. Returning after so many years, it’s been really easy to fall right back into the charm the series offers.

If you really take it for what it is, Kirby is one of the earliest examples in Nintendo’s gaming history that thrives on the “accessible to everyone” style gameplay Nintendo loves. It’s super simple, never too hard, and has an appealing style that all ages can enjoy. But the difference between this, and many of the Wii’s “accessible” titles is Kirby titles are actually games.

Honestly, everytime I power on my DS to play Super Star Ultra, I get happy. Maybe that sounds silly, but it’s true. The music is great, the world is happy and uplifting, and most importantly, it’s just straight fun.

Why Nintendo hasn't ported this never released GCN Kirby to Wii?

Why hasn't Nintendo ported this never released GCN Kirby to Wii yet?

With that, I really don’t see why it’s taking so long to get the pink puff on to the big screen. Why oh why hasn’t Nintendo released a new Kirby for home consoles since Kirby 64? It really doesn’t make sense, especially when a GameCube version was in the works (video here), and looking far into the development cycle. If that was the case, why not just translate the damn thing to Wii?

According to Videogames Blogger and a Nintendo document, that might still be happening. However, I’ll take that with a grain of salt and wait for some official announcement. For now, I’ll simply remain baffled.

Sweeter than candy.

Sweeter than candy.

In the mean time, I’ll be doing some research on all the Kirby goodness I’ve missed over the years. As a returning fan to the series, I have a lot of catching up to do. So, is there a must have title that I have to play? If so, be sure to leave a comment letting me know.

Note: I’ve played through Canvas Curse on the DS. This post is mostly referring to the more traditional Kirby titles.

Leave a Reply

